Days after the Steelers lost to the Patriots over the most controversial officiating call of the season, fans are still arguing over if the ruling was correct. This will just add fuel to the fire.
James’ attempt to catch the ball was ruled incomplete by officials after though his body was body while having possession along with the ball being over the plane (which would warrant a touchdown), he failed to ‘complete’ the catch all the way to the ground.
The ball seemingly hits the ground as James’ out stretched arms reached for the goal line, but a new image has emerged of a counter angle to the ones that were seen that night in the replay booth as well as after it, with the tight end’s right hand appeared to be underneath the ball at the time it looks to come in contact with the ground from the primary angle.
Here’s my view/ photos of the “drop”. Sure looks like his right hand was under the ball the whole time, but thats just my opinion. #itwasacatch
— Brian Kunst (@BrianLeeStudios) December 21, 2017
The replay, explained to prove James didn’t complete the catch, shows the ball seemingly hitting the ground. When cross-referenced with the image above, at the point at which the still was taken, the ball looks to be touching the turf, which can be now disproved by the photo.
If anyone tries to say that Jesse James caught the ball, link them this tweet. The NFL’s SVP of Officiating explaining how the call was correct: pic.twitter.com/jtYn5rcgiy
— Tyler (@FxckDaRefs) December 18, 2017