Apparently The Body Weight Penalty Doesn’t Count When It’s The Patriots Sacking A QB

The NFL has been hard pressed about enforcing the rule of disallowing defenders to land on the quarterback with most or all of his bodyweight, but apparently that’s not the case when it happens in Foxboro.

During the second quarter of Week 5’s TNF matchup between the Patriots and Colts, two New England defenders smothered Andrew Luck, with both of them coming down right on top of the Colts QB.

No flag was thrown.

Tom Brady and the Patriots were awarded a roughing the passer penalty shortly after for a defender grazing his helmet.