Referees Miss An Obvious Seahawks Fumble Even After Reviewing The Play

The officials are lucky this play didn’t determine the outcome of the game because this is an egregious mistake.

In the fourth quarter of Thursday night’s game, it appeared a punt hit the Seahawks punt returner Dee Williams, then the 49ers had a clear recovery. On the field it was called Seahawks ball, so Shanahan threw the red challenge flag.

On the replay, it’s pretty clear the ball hit Williams’ finger but for some reason, Officials said the call on the field stood and it was still Seahawks’ ball.

Later in the broadcast, Terry McAulay, the Amazon Prime rule analyst, came back on and gave a stunning explanation to why the call might have been reversed. Because the NFL, which is a billion dollar entity, didn’t have access to the same enhanced replay footage that was on Amazon Prime Video broadcast.

inlineg

Unbelievable.