Lions WR Golden Tate Scores Controversial TD vs. Bears

It’s almost like the NFL catch rules changes in the NFL every day. 

Late in the second quarter of Sunday’s game between the Bears and the Detroit Lions, there was a play that once again has people wondering what the hell is a catch and what isn’t.

On 3rd-and-goal from the Bears’ 2-yard line, Lion receiver Golden Tate caught a pass at the goal line. As Tate tried to secure the catch, Bears CB Kyler Fuller was able to strip the ball loose, Tate then tried to recover the pass but it was intercepted by the Bears. 

The referees initially rued that the play was an interception and a touch-back for Chicago. 

 On 3rd-and-goal from the Bears’ 2-yard line, Lions receiver Golden Tate hauled in a pass at the goal line. As Tate tried to secure the catch, Chicago cornerback Kyle Fuller was able to strip the ball loose, with the Bears eventually recovering in the end zone but the play was obviously reviewed because all scoring plays are.

After review, it was ruled that Tate broke the plane before losing the football. 

So I ask, what exactly is a catch?